How Availability Routing Mode can improve your customer service and prevent cherry picking


Does your help desk sometimes feel like a pressure cooker? Bring positive energy back into your team by choosing the Routing Mode wisely. It will make all the difference to your customer satisfaction level on a busy day.

Cherry-picking sounds sweet enough when you have all the time in the world. But when those cherries start bucketing down, you’ll need to up your harvest game. Switching from Normal to Availability Routing Mode will relieve overwhelmed help desk agents and frustrated customers.

What happens in Normal Mode?

Normal Mode is the default mode for all accounts, perfect for “normal” days, when there is enough capacity to handle all incoming chat conversations without stress. Your chat widget(s) remain visible no matter how busy your agents are. Casengo sends individual notifications to each agent; when (s)he clicks on a notification and opens the case, it’s hidden from other agents. Agents who are logged can cherry-pick their customer cases. The notifications show the customer’s name and the message content.

When an agent, for instance, is allowed to manage up to 3 chat conversations at the same time, there may be one customer in his queue if he’s currently handling 2 chat conversations. The more cases he has opened and locked, the less capacity he has available.

What happens in Availability Mode?

In Normal Routing Mode, an option for our Enterprise and Elite customers only, Casengo sends notifications to all agents the moment a chat message comes in, which is fine when they can handle all incoming enquiries. In Availability Routing Mode, however, conversation requests end up in a queue. Agents indicate whether or not they’re capable to help customers on a first-in first-out basis. They cannot cherry-pick conversations. The button to pull chats from the queue shows neither the customer’s name nor his first message.

When the maximum capacity is reached, Casengo will hide the chat widget button from your website. Customers who try to initiate a chat will receive a message that you are not available for chat. This message can be customised in Chat Settings. Once the dust settles, the system displays the chat widget again, hiding the ‘not available’ message. Also, your chat agents will only receive notifications about chat cases they already own.

Check out our FAQ for more technical details.